The 2016 Presidential primary schedule is currently being assembled. The dates below are subject to change as states make their final decisions regarding what day to hold their primary contests. Please use our contact form if you see incorrect information and can provide a link to accurate information. This page will be updated as the calendar is finalized.


Note: Some dates subject to change. Delegate counts represent the total delegates sent to convention from each state and each respective party.

Monday, February 1Iowa caucus52 D, 30 RClosed
Tuesday, February 9New Hampshire32 D, 23 RMixed
Saturday, February 20Nevada caucus (D)43Closed
South Carolina (R)50Open
Tuesday, February 23Nevada caucus (R)30Closed
Saturday, February 27South Carolina (D)59Open
Tuesday, March 1
(Super Tuesday)
Alabama60 D, 50 ROpen
Alaska caucus (R)28Closed
American Samoa caucus (D)10Open
Arkansas37 D, 40 ROpen
Colorado caucus79 D, 37 RClosed
Georgia116 D, 76 ROpen
Massachusetts 116 D, 42 RMixed
Minnesota caucus93 D, 38 ROpen
North Dakota caucus (R)28Closed
Oklahoma42 D, 43 RClosed
Tennessee76 D, 58 ROpen
Texas252 D, 155 ROpen
Vermont26 D, 16 ROpen
Virginia110 D, 49 ROpen
Wyoming caucus (R)29Closed
Saturday, March 5Kansas caucus37 D, 40 RClosed
Kentucky caucus (R)45Closed
Louisiana58 D, 47 RClosed
Maine caucus (R)23Closed
Nebraska caucus (D)30Closed
Sunday, March 6Maine caucus (D)30Closed
Puerto Rico (R)23Open
Tuesday, March 8Hawaii caucus (R)19Closed
Idaho (R)32Closed
Michigan148 D, 59 ROpen
Mississippi41 D, 40 ROpen
Democrats Abroad17N/A
Saturday, March 12Guam (R convention)9Closed
Northern Marianas caucus (D)11Closed
District of Columbia caucus (R)19Closed
Tuesday, March 15Florida246 D, 99 RClosed
Illinois182 D, 69 ROpen
Missouri84 D, 52 ROpen
North Carolina121 D, 72 RMixed
Northern Mariana Islands caucus (R)9Closed
Ohio159 D, 66 RMixed
Saturday, March 19Virgin Islands caucus (R)9Open
Tuesday, March 22American Samoa (R convention)9Open
Arizona85 D, 58 ROpen
Idaho caucus (D)27Closed
Utah37 D, 40 RClosed
Saturday, March 26Alaska caucus (D)20Closed
Hawaii caucus (D)34Closed
Washington caucus (D)118Closed
Tuesday, April 5Wisconsin96 D, 42 ROpen
Saturday, April 9Wyoming caucus (D)18Closed
Tuesday, April 19New York291 D, 95 RClosed
Tuesday, April 26Connecticut70 D, 28 RClosed
Delaware31 D, 16 RClosed
Maryland118 D, 38 RClosed
Pennsylvania210 D, 71 RClosed
Rhode Island33 R, 19 RMixed
Tuesday, May 3Indiana92 D, 57 ROpen
Saturday, May 7Guam (D)12Closed
Tuesday, May 10Nebraska (R)36Closed
West Virginia34 D, 37 RMixed
Tuesday, May 17Kentucky (D)61Closed
Oregon73 D, 28 RClosed
Tuesday, May 24Washington (R) 44Closed
Saturday, June 4Virgin Islands caucus (D)12Open
Sunday, June 5Puerto Rico caucus (D)67Open
Tuesday, June 7California546 D, 172 RClosed
Montana27 D, 27 ROpen
New Jersey142 D, 51 RMixed
New Mexico43 D, 24 RClosed
North Dakota caucus (D)23Closed
South Dakota25 D, 29 RClosed
Tuesday, June 14District of Columbia (D)46Closed
Last update: 1/8/16

Source: 2016 Election Central