The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) has completed the application session which opened on January 1, 2015, and ended on March 31. During this period, a total of sixteen organizations, many universities, some municipalities, submitted applications to host a presidential or vice presidential debate in 2016. At this point, the CPD will evaluate each application and announce the debate lineup sometime later this year. Three organizations will get the pleasure of hosting a presidential debate, and one will be selected to host a vice presidential debate.


According to the CPD website, these sixteen applicants submitted a proposal:

  • Belmont University, Nashville, TN
  • City of Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
  • City of McAllen, McAllen, TX
  • Dominican University of California, San Rafael, CA
  • Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond, KY
  • Georgia College & State University, Milledgeville, GA
    Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY
  • Houston Community College, Houston, TX
  • Jacksonville University, Jacksonville, FL
  • Longwood University, Farmville, VA
  • State University of New York Rockland Community College (SUNY RCC) in partnership with Rockland Debates 2016, Suffern, NY
  • Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas and the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, Las Vegas, NV
  • Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
  • West Virginia University and West Virginia State University, Charleston, WV
  • Wright State University, Dayton, OH

Over the course of the next several months, the CPD will evaluate criteria such as logistical considerations including facilities, accommodations, accessibility, among other items which are used to judge the host applicant. The full list of evaluating criteria is available here if you’re interested to learn more about this process.